The Innocent Slumber of the Needle Felted Wire Haired Dachshund

Ah the satisfaction of completing my little replica.  I watched our little mini wire Aldo sleeping and thought – that would be good to needle felt – so my needle came out and I started.

The base was pink – really harsh wool that enabled me to get the shape easily.  I made the legs and head separately and before I attached them I covered his tummy in brown Shetland combed top.   I then dressed the legs with a mix of Icelandic and Shetland top – cut into tiny pieces that I hand mixed to get the wild boar look of the coat.  I left the tops of the legs un-felted so I could attach them to the body and I used a long doll needle to stitch through the front legs so they stayed in the right position whilst I felted them on.  I then attached the head – still in its un-dressed state and looking really odd – the pink made it look like an alien!  It took a while to cover the body in its mixed wool coat and once done I added the tail and started on the head – that was very fiddly – adding eyebrows and a beard, felting on the black nose and doing a fine line for the closed eyelids.

When I was happy that he was in the correct sleeping position and his beard was well needled in, I put him aside and made the basket from Green Perendale batting.  The banket came next, a small piece of doubled Sherpa fleece (that I use for my real dog beds)  I embroidered a small paw print on one corner and overlocked it. 

I finally had my mini miniature – 5 inches long in a basket 6 inches wide!

l1003591

l1003590

l1003589nic

The Innocent Slumber of the Needle Felted Wire Haired Dachshund

One thought on “The Innocent Slumber of the Needle Felted Wire Haired Dachshund

Leave a Reply

